: molu4.diaryland.com

private | folks | currently | previously | mail | profile | g-book

2002-08-08 - 11:26 a.m.

And here we have yet another astounding day. It's a relief.

So, the informal poll taking place in my and Bathsheba's respective guestbooks about where I should move next year has got me thinking.

Here are my choices.

1. Blythe wants to move to DC next summer. She wants me to move there as well. I've not lived in the same town as this excellent girl since the last time we lived in DC (1996) and I adore her. I love DC. I could work at the Library of Congress. Theoretically. I would still be within a day's drive from mi familia, which is ridiculously important to me. DC has grown exponentially expensive since I last lived there. Basho is a country dog. Plus the cats. Hard to find an affordable place, I imagine.

2. New York City. I don't know about this one. It makes me nervous, the thought. But I've always wanted to live in NYC at some point in my life. I've always loved the city every time I've visited. Brittania wants to move there. I adore her as well. But first she must move here. Still, all told, NYC makes me nervous. Plus the pets. Plus the country dog. Plus the expenses.

3. Colorado. Bathsheba. Bookstore. So so far away from my east coast. Bathsheba. Bookstore. Country and mountains. I'd love to move there if only the trip home, to my family, were easier. But still, I'm trying to wrap my head around the possibility. Colorado sounds like a different planet to me. Is it possible for me to actually move there? I'm not even close to sure.

4. Here. Not moving. Is this the right, responsible thing to do? Or the easy non-thing to do? The passive trap of never leaving my comfort zone? Or is my urge to move simply the urge to run away?

We're going to the mountains tomorrow. I love this state. It's like a kingdom. The mountains to the west, the ocean to the east, all within a few hours drive. I would be sad to leave here, in the end.

Oh well hello. My dad just showed up here at work. He's already fixed my bike. The one Claribel gave me. Then he rode it up here. Good work pops.

before

after
diaryland.com