: molu4.diaryland.com

private | folks | currently | previously | mail | profile | g-book

2002-08-16 - 9:03 a.m.

I do not want to be awake right now. It�s overcast and I�m exhausted and I would love to spend the day in bed eating soup and reading. Doesn�t that sound marvelous?

I love the wolfboy. He told me to move. He says I�m too old for the college party crowd and too young to die and that I need to get something else, somewhere else. He�s right. We discovered that we are the exact same age. He says he doesn�t want to work. He just wants to play his saxophone and hang out with his dog and read. I love him, I do. Why oh why didn�t I meet him when I first started this job? He�s only got one more week here. I told him I�m contemplating Colorado. He said hell yeah you�re moving to Colorado. He said I would be perfect for Colorado and Colorado would be perfect for me. We'll see.

Today is brother Dan�s 24th birthday. He�s in California, hopefully at Oliver�s. Oliver was worried (and hopeful, I have to say) that Dan would be gone by today. We�ll see if I can catch him there. Dan-Jo Banjo. That�s what we called him when he was a kid. And Danny. My dad would always serenade him with �Oh Danny Boy.� He�s so good and smart and lovely and witty and kind. He is completely incapable of caring for himself. He�s the sort of boy you want to take home and feed. He inspires the caregiver in nearly everyone he comes in contact with, which is why he�s lasted this long. I hope he gets better. I hope he wants to get better. Cheers Danny my closest brother, my heart�s twin.

Coming in to work today I was practically in tears, thinking how great it all is. It's ridiculous, tracking my moods. But I am grateful. I have a house to come home to, with no other person in it. Sanctuary. Basho. Harold & Miss Blue. Company. My job, which I enjoy. Security. Structure. Ritual. All good. And the sunrise this morning. And the music on my radio (Blue Mountain). Let me be like this, just for a little while, just for now.

The House Was Quiet and the World was Calm

The house was quiet and the world was calm.
The reader became the book; and summer night
Was like the conscious being of the book.
The house was quiet and the world was calm.
The words were spoken as if there was no book,
Except that the reader leaned above the page,
Wanted to lean, wanted much most to be
The scholar to whom his book is true, to whom
The summer night is like a perfection of thought.
The house was quiet because it had to be.
The quiet was part of the meaning, part of the mind:
The access of perfection to the page.
And the world was calm. The truth in a calm world,
In which there is no other meaning, itself
Is calm, itself is summer and night, itself
Is the reader leaning late and reading there.

�����--Wallace Stevens

before

after
diaryland.com