: molu4.diaryland.com

private | folks | currently | previously | mail | profile | g-book

2002-12-02 - 1:42 p.m.

Me brain and me body protest. I have a sore throat and a hoarse voice and am bruised and battered and my head aches and my left eye feels like 10,000 needles are piercing it and my lips are more chapped than they have ever been and I am so deeply tired that I think everyone looking in my direction can see right through me because I am gray with exhaustion, so gray I am a ghost.

It�s because I�m not in the fairy fun world anymore, am I. Do you know what happens in the fairy fun world? Your friends all climb into bed with you at 3 am because you have to go to sleep because you are tired, my darling dears, and you know that tomorrow is Monday and Monday means work and teaching just like Monday always does. And so, they climb into bed with you and they tell you secrets until you fall asleep and the secrets they tell make you giggle even though your stomach hurts from so much giggling and even as your eyes close, you can't stop wanting more, wanting to still be awake and wanting them to stay forever.

(Note: this may not be the literal truth, but in fairy fun world you can alter all the facts to your own liking and anyway, maybe it is the literal truth. Maybe you did fall asleep before they left. Maybe you can�t bear the idea of being awake when people disappear).

When did I get beat up? I don�t remember. How did I get here, at work, in my dull gray skirt and my clunky teacher shoes and my lank hair and my bloodshot eyes? Where is my gentle transition back into the tedium? I am all unprepared and suddenly the last 4 days are disappearing too, like smoke or pixie dust or your favorite song on the radio in the car passing you or the dream you had about the boy you never have met but who loved you and who you loved. Who was he? Why can't I remember anything?

Well. Before I forget this too, for the record, I wish to install the following folks permanently in my house: Brittania, Justin, and Scott. I think I never said a word all weekend. I was struck dumb by the presence of such excellent company.

I am both lovesick and heartbroken. This is why: when I go home they will all be gone.

before

after
diaryland.com