: molu4.diaryland.com

private | folks | currently | previously | mail | profile | g-book

2002-12-05 - 11:36 a.m.

All the machines are gone. Power's out, so's the heat, truck is parked far away and I, I am not so sure about this anymore.

I've been dozing all morning and feeling just flat out busted blue. I finally got myself together to go out into the world in search of coffee. I also need to gather some foodstuff while I'm out because unless I'm keen on eating raw rice or pasta, I've got nothing. Well...a jar of peanut butter. Yum.

I guess the machines keep me from feeling so all alone, don't they. Looking out the window at Bash and seeing all the downed trees and tree limbs and power lines, I was awfully afraid. What would I do if anything really happened and I with no truck or even nearby friends, hell--I don't even know my neighbors to say hello.

It's suddenly difficult not to feel sorry for myself. I keep thinking this whole thing would be fun if I had somebody else around to do it with. I even contemplated trekking over to Timalina's for some company. But I'm too shy.

Oh good heavens. Shut up girl.

Right. I'm going to get my wintery supplies and then I'm a going home to my pup. But I tell you what: I'm getting lots of batteries so that I can make the tape player work because some machines are good. Some machines help me forget the oppression of this solitude. Some machines bring Steve Earle around to keep me company. And baby, that's worth everything.

before

after
diaryland.com