: molu4.diaryland.com

private | folks | currently | previously | mail | profile | g-book

2003-02-08 - 9:01 a.m.

Pet peeve: when people say stuff like, "he's the comic's comic." Or "songwriter's songwriter." Or "musician's musician." Also: Scott Simon on NPR. That guy gets under my damned skin.

Longing: Twice this morning I have yearned for my little house in the country. When I was sitting outside with Basho and it was all cold and frosty and the sun was rising, all I could see were yards and streets and other people's houses. In the little house, I could sit outside and see the woods and see the silly pack of guinea hens yelling all over my yard and in the mornings I met deer and met the unqualified beauty of open space and a quiet wood. Opening the blinds in the living room just now, I thought of all the people passing by and the busy life of people and wished my windows opened, like they once did, to the woods, to no people, to no streets, to no houses. When I lived there I was miserable because I didn't want to be in graduate school and I didn't have any friends close by. So I moved back here and of course the irony is that I have lost nearly all contact with humanity. Ah well.

Happy things: package containing two mix tapes from my pal Jude; rejection letter (note the word "letter" in this sentence) from Poetry in which my rejecter says "I've now read the poems, with interest." (With interest!); pizza in my refrigerator which I made from scratch last night while listening to my new tapes; the gorgeous stunning frost filled morning outside with Basho and fresh coffee; this email which greeted me this fine morning from brother Dan:

Hi, Molu.

I know I'm not the best at sending EEEEEEEEEEEEEE-mail, ('cause I get so enamored w/ the letter E), and I'm also not sure about my punctuation,,,, 'cause eye dint gradgeeate frum A grate youniversitee like U.

At any rate, if you do give me a shadow of a doubt, at least I know that the word doubt has a silent "B" in it. Well, does that actually give me any kind of edge at all??!!
I think surely, no.
And I hate using adverbs like that.
At any rate
the letter "A"
is absolutely
and
ardently
an absolute
antithesis
of
anything I would
normally
attribute to
my fucking arsenal
of odd unscrupulous
entertainment.
Is this entertainment?
God help your fucking sorry ass.
And please, give me both room and steam,
you motherfuckers.

P.S. Don't take it personally. And by the way, this whole E-mail shit mystifies me

That kid makes me laugh.

Announcement: Clang! I am happy! Clang! Life is excellent! Have a good day! Have a bad day! Whatever! It's your life! Do what you like! If you want to sing out, sing out! If you want to be free, be free! If you want to be me, be me! If you want to be you, be you! Cat Stevens, I love you man.

before

after
diaryland.com