: molu4.diaryland.com

private | folks | currently | previously | mail | profile | g-book

2003-06-11 - 2:35 p.m.

Really super quick because we are about to set up the library (Bathsheba must first make herself two drinks: one cold with vitamin C and one hot with a hint of caffeine) here are some things:

1. The birds outside here, the ones winging themselves around, the ridiculously fine looking and social ones, are black-winged magpies.

2. Just read this from old teacher's new book:

In my trees Jeff and Jon from Crooked Wood
Have trimmed the post oak and the maple
Then hauled the truckloads to the country
Where their friends will gather around a bonfire
Of kindling branches and lengths of seasoned trunks.

In other words: Jeff is one of the seven muses. Just as I suspected. There's also a poem called, "Basho, Buson, Issa, Greensboro" for which I would swear my one and only Bashi Basho served as inspiration.

3. Oh there's a long thing from last Sunday's NYX that I wanted to quote but I haven't time. Tomorrow perhaps. As a teaser I will quote the motto of North Carolina: "to be rather than to seem."

4. Frances called yesterday. Where were we? In Buffyverse, no doubt. I laughed hearing her voice this morning.

5. I have been struck by the great sleepiness since I've been here. I think I sleep upwards of 50 hours a day. No lie. I go now. Library. So many, so very many, delicious books. I could, for instance, stay here in this one chair for the rest of my time here and never run out of reading material. In the last 24 hours, rarely removed from this very seat, I've read or examined:Bite Me! An unoffical guide to BtVS, NYX, Bitch Magazine, Brain Child, Entertainment Weekly, Dig Safe, and The Story of King Arthur and his Knights. That's just a fraction of what's in arm reach of me here. Nothing compared to the great swells of greatness up above. So good day my pretties.

before

after
diaryland.com