: molu4.diaryland.com

private | folks | currently | previously | mail | profile | g-book

2004-02-10 - 9:09 a.m.

I am an introvert. Now hush.

FYI, On the care and feeding of your introvert:

Respect their need for privacy.
Never embarrass them in public.
Let them observe first in new situations.
Give them time to think. Don�t demand instant answers.
Don�t interrupt them.
Give them advanced notice of expected changes in their lives.
Give them 15 minute warnings to finish whatever they are doing before calling them to dinner or moving on to the next activity. (OMG I LOVE THIS ONE)
Reprimand them privately.
Teach them new skills privately rather than in public.
Enable them to find one best friend who has similar interests and abilities: encourage this relationship even if the friend moves.
Do not push them to make lots of friends.
Respect their introversion. Don�t try to remake them into extraverts.

The only one of those that I�m not like HELL YEAH THAT�S RIGHT MOTHERFUCKERS is the �don�t interrupt them� one. I�m all right with being interrupted. And interrupting (as any of you who've ever talked to me know very well. Sheesh. I'm an interrupter extraordinaire). Probably that�s because I grew up in a very loud boisterous and severely extraverted familia wherein if you ever wanted to say anything ever you must interrupt someone else because that someone or other was always always talking.

Speaking of mi familia, guess who is the newest, how you say, sandwich artist? Ah yes, me wee brother Shawn filled out the application from Subway on his 15th birthday and now spends every single one of his after-school hours there. I don�t like that part. I don�t like for people to work so much. But Shawn, bless him, is a total extravert and he loves to make money and he loves to work, so, yep. He promised his first paycheck to Theresa (bio-mom). That�s awful sweet, don�t you think?

Also sweet by Shawn is that he stuck up for the gays in school. His teacher set up a debate on the issue of gay marriage and asked for volunteers to argue that the gays should be allowed to marry and nobody volunteered except Shawn, except then other people followed his lead because he is popular and extraverted. He�s so good. He likes the gays. I�m terribly relieved because way back in 2000 he said he loved George W. Bush (!) and also he told me that real men drive trucks, real women drive minivans (!)(!!) Those were his conservative years, back there in his early adolescence. My mom was wicked cute when she told me the story of how Shawn stuck up for gay marriage. She was awful proud. Me too.

Anyway.

I�m a work now. I�m a write email to the most excellent Bath. Also maybe Brittania will come over weekend after next!

Y�all, I�m an INTROVERT. I�m so glad.

P.S. I keep meaning to fix this damned page, which I know is all messed up, and I even did a whole new redesign but I just haven't, I don't know, implemented it. Veddy veddy soon, I do that. Everything be better. Just you wait.

before

after
diaryland.com