: molu4.diaryland.com

private | folks | currently | previously | mail | profile | g-book

2002-09-18 - 3:43 p.m.

To qualify: I love Prufrock. More than any other character in all of literature, I am Prufrock. Scared. Lonesome. Detached. Isolated. Afraid to even ask if I could be more than I am. (�And indeed there will be time/To wonder, �Do I dare?� and, �Do I dare?���) There isn�t time, though, is there? I am shallow and trivial and know know know that I'm missing something more and better but I'm too frightened to make a move or risk anything.

I always forget that everybody is not like this. My big boisterous lit. class is not like this. They like bold, they like brave. They think Prufrock is pathetic. And it's true, he is. They have no time to spare for the weak and the timid.

For I have known them all already, known them all:�
Have known the evenings, mornings, afternoons,
I have measured out my life with coffee spoons;
I know the voices dying with a dying fall
Beneath the music from a farther room.
So how should I presume?

And I have known the eyes already, known them all�
The eyes that fix you in a formulated phrase,
And when I am formulated, sprawling on a pin,
When I am pinned and wriggling on the wall,
Then how should I begin
To spit out all the butt-ends of my days and ways?
And how should I presume?

I love this poem the way I love my mother�I cannot be objective about it. I should, therefore, not teach it.

A booming thunderous rain is happening. Would it be bad to have a beer before class tonight? I love to drink out in the rain.

I was looking at this site earlier. I loved looking at everyone�s pictures. Sherman Alexie and his long hair and William Carlos Williams in his little hat and glasses, Richard Wright and Walt Whitman and Maxine Kumin and Elizabeth Bishop (who doesn�t look at all like someone who would like me, but I love her so, in spite of this). I love the people who write the poems, I do I do. That�s probably why I shouldn�t teach any of this mess. I just love to read the poems and think about them and fantasize about the writers and I wish to god I didn�t need money. I would just read the poems all day long.

before

after
diaryland.com