: molu4.diaryland.com

private | folks | currently | previously | mail | profile | g-book

2002-11-05 - 10:05 a.m.

Ok so I started to write a very whiny, very irritated entry about someone writing an email to everyone he knows in an attempt to get out the vote. Then I realized I have issues. Encouraging people to vote is not actually a bad thing. I�m sure it can�t even qualify as an irritating thing. It�s good. A good deed. Good work. Voting is ok. I vote, for instance.

Caveat: This next paragraph is where I negate everything I just wrote in the previous paragraph.

His email was patronizing as hell though. He was all, �vote your conscious� and �the senate is divided, blah blah blah� like he knows something the rest of us don�t. Bullshit-o, mister mister. I listen to NPR and read the NYX and Harper�s just like you (not that I�m proud of these facts, mind you). Ugh. He�s one of those people who must be the Holder of Important and Interesting Information. And I am always spoiling for a fight and so every time I let him bait me. Luckily he�s only about � as smart as he thinks he is (he thinks he is a mad genius--so he's actually fairly smart--just not smarter than the rest of us, which he definitely thinks he is) AND he has absolutely no information that cannot be gotten from the above three sources. I swear to god he is the living embodiment of the liberal establishment. Damn it. I wasn�t go to be a jerk about that. I wasn�t I wasn�t. But then I am and I did and therefore I was. Plus I�m a total hypocrite because I get so damned annoyed with people who listen to NPR and read the NYX (even though they don�t live in NYC) and read Harper�s, a magazine that annoys me to no end, but the fact is, I too read and listen to those sources. I find NPR infinitely soothing to listen to. Like watching A&E�s Pride and Prejudice. Look, don�t ask. I make no sense, I know.

Let�s move on, shall we? So Bash and I went to the vet yesterday and I am once again living in the pit of poverty. I told myself over and over again, just tell them you want the shots, nothing else, just the shots. I tried this. I managed to finagle us out of a bath and nail trimming. But do you know how much I spent? $160.25. Eek. I do not have such money. Fuck. So I�m back on the rice and beans diet until next year. Actually, probably I�m on the rice and beans diet until my ship comes in, which, knowing all that I know, may be in about five years. That�s when I predict a smidgeon of financial security.

Basho weighs 52.8 lbs. He always looks smaller than that to me. That�s because he�s my baby puppy dog who I like to hug all day long. I�m a sucker for all the flattery at the vet. They say, �oh he�s such a cutie!� and I say, �I know! He totally is the cutest coolest smartest and most fun dog ever! That�s what you meant, right?� I am aware that they say this about all the dogs and cats. But I fall for it every time.

Well, I better go vote my bleeding conscious. I swear to god, expert boys are the bane of my existence. That�s because expert boys make me act like expert girl because I can�t stand boys grandstanding and railroading and thinking they are smart when they are not. Especially when those boys always surround themselves with girls who act like idiots. Drives me batty, it does. That is all, I swear. I�m going to have a blow pop (grape), listen to super good songs (greg brown), do my work (mad cataloging), read (gish jen), drink coffee (black), stay warm. No more grouchy baby. Not me.

before

after
diaryland.com