: molu4.diaryland.com

private | folks | currently | previously | mail | profile | g-book

2002-11-14 - 2:25 p.m.

I am such a mass of contradictory impulses. Lunch, sunshine and Basho. Lunch, regret and rain. Lunch, joy and sorrow ate me up. William Matthews: I wanted company and to be alone. I am lonely because I cannot bear not to be lonely. I am so sad and so happy and so content at the same time. It is not, one minute this, the next minute that. It is all together everything all at once together. What I can�t get to is the place where the opposites hold hands, where the lion and lamb lie down together. Where I�m not constantly trying to amend, to erase, to revise, to explicate, to further explain this truth. This truth: I am dread and hope. I am love and destruction. I am sorry and I am not sorry.

And the woman in the flower-print dress hemmed
With stains
A half mile off
Is the authoress of no more than smoke rising,
Her sole diary & only publication,
From a distant chimney.
They have perhaps a year or two
Left of this
Before history begins to edit them into
Something without smoke or flies, something
Beyond all recognition.

������--Larry Levis

Here's some Greg Brown too:

Sirens wail above the fields -
another soul gone down -
another Sun about to rise.
I've lost track of my mistakes,
like birds they fly around
and darken half of my skies.
To all of those I've hurt -
I pray you'll forgive me.
I to you will freely do the same.
so many things I didn't see,
with my eyes turned inside,
playing the poet game.

I walk out at night to take a leak
underneath the stars -
oh yeah that's the life for me.
There's Orion and the Pleiades
and I guess that must be Mars -
all as clear as we long to be.
I've sung what I was given -
some was bad and some was good.
I never did know from where it came
and if I had it all to do again
I am not sure I would
play the poet game.

--Greg Brown

before

after
diaryland.com