: molu4.diaryland.com

private | folks | currently | previously | mail | profile | g-book

2002-11-14 - 12:33 p.m.

Ok, for real now. This is it, this is the last post of the morning. I just can't stand to have the last last post be the first thing anyone (meaning me) sees when she looks at this page.

Let me set the scene for you. I got 5 trucks of books waiting for my attention--all five have been waiting since Monday. I'm not on my game this week.

My boss and I were brainstorming this morning, trying to think of female poets who might want to come teach here. Because dear old Fred has, it seems, finally said he's going to retire. Oh dear. This is why I love my boss, because she told me about Fred and then she came and sat down and she said, who would you want to come here, who are some people. It was a fun game which no other boss in the many layered history of my bosses would ever have thought to play with me. She's so neat. She also told me that some fella is donating some first edition Eudora Welty books and an autographed copy of a Tennessee Williams play to the library. Neat, I say, super.

I just cataloged a book called Sex: A Natural History and oh my. I read the first page--positively racy. All kinds of group sex in all kinds of positions and incest and bisexuality. Turns out it was about the Bonobos. And then I read about all these different cultures' methods of dealing with what the author calls "alternative" sexuality. It was pretty interesting. Like the Navaho Indians have a formal gender called berdache--men who do women's work. This is, it seems, a revered position for what our lovely culture calls sissies.

So who are good and fairly young (so they won't retire too soon) women poets? Those are the rules of the game. I'm making a list over here.

Well, look at that. I have successfully not worked my way to lunch. Happy happy joy joy.

before

after
diaryland.com