: molu4.diaryland.com

private | folks | currently | previously | mail | profile | g-book

2002-12-09 - 5:48 p.m.

Oh my goodness! Oh my goodness! I am all happiness! I am the most grateful recipient of an unexpected package! Me!

Brittania, that loveliest of all lovelies, has sent me pictures and a letter and Li-Young Lee's Rose.

And if I had my scanner I'd show you some of the pictures--not any of the ones I took because even with a dummy-proof camera I take the worst pictures in the world (and it's so sad because there's only one of Brittania and I took it and it's all fuzzy wuzzy). But there are pictures from my Boston/New Hampshire trip--all of the backs of J-bird's and sfitz's and the Dean's and Complaint's heads (except for the one with J-bird puckering up to a fee tube, such a capitalist, he is). And then there are the pictures of Scott and Justin and me on my bed. In the pictures, Scott and Justin luuuurrve each other.

And then there's the letter Brittania wrote to me and she tells me a racy story which she calls Dicksuck Carchase and that title is quite apt, quite descriptive.

And the book! Oh how I've wanted this book. All my life I've wanted it, I think. I want to tell you all the poems in it, but I won't. I want to read this whole book to someone, someone. I want someone to read this whole book to me.

Oh Brittania, you've turned me all around, you have. And I'm looking at the lines from "Dreaming About Hair" that you underlined

(is it death?
beauty? this dark
star spreading in every direction from the crown of her head
....
I saw for the first time
behind the thick swirl of his black hair,
the mole of wisdom,
a lone planet swimming slowly.)
and reading the words you wrote in the margin which are my secret now and I am all turned around.

before

after
diaryland.com