: molu4.diaryland.com

private | folks | currently | previously | mail | profile | g-book

2003-01-12 - 11:37 a.m.

"Because the Illinois death penalty system is arbitrary and capricious -- and therefore immoral -- I no longer shall tinker with the machinery of death."

Holy smokes, batman. Did y'all see what George Ryan (outgoing governor of Illinois) did? Commuted the death sentence of every death row inmate in Illinois. Bravo, man. I've been heartened these last couple of years by the moratorium that several states have placed on the death penalty, and I know Illinois has been leading the pack, but I am pretty shocked by this move. Course he can't run for office any more and Monday's his last day on the job. But still, I think he's done a brave and honorable thing.

before

after
diaryland.com