: molu4.diaryland.com

private | folks | currently | previously | mail | profile | g-book

2003-01-19 - 5:17 p.m.

Oh man. What the hell time is it? Day? Month? Year, etc.? I am officially lost in space. Ugh. Hate the computer. Hate it.

What has happened in the last couple of days:

1. A beautiful and beautifully friendly and overly large and oafishly clumsy black lab followed Bash and me home from our walk on Friday night. We had encountered this dog a few times on our daily rounds and his current (temporary, I believe) caretaker asked if a. he was my dog and then (when met with a negative reply) if b. I wanted him to be my dog. I hesitated before replying in the negative a second time. So I knew he was a bit homeless when he followed us home. Therefore, I invited him in when it became obvious to all that he was not going anywhere else and the sun had set and the serious cold had descended. He spent the night and he was great fun and in the morning I had a long talk with both him (who I took to calling Lorca and who I also taught to sit) and Basho about our collective future. Then I made my decision. Then I walked him back to the temporary caretaker's house, passing many a sign saying "found: black lab." Ah well. I'm still wrestling with lots of guilty feelings for having taken him back. But I also realized that I'm something of a one dog woman--I didn't like how friendly old Lorca's presence changed the dynamic with dearest Bash. He's not much of an alpha dog and he just sort of faded into a corner while the big lovable creature took over. Bash is my dog and he has all of my allegiance. But if anybody is looking for a gorgeous and gorgeously friendly black lab, tell me, please. I think the current caretakers, while they seem pretty friendly, are not the best of the best. I mean, they let that dog roam and now, it looks like they're keeping him tied up out front. I can't say I approve. But I can't say much of anything because I am clearly not taking care of the dog. Thus, guilt. Arg.

2. I went to the lake yesterday.

Yup. That's it, really. I'm hermiting hermiting hermiting. I'm also trying to get through the weekend without spending any money. So far, so good. But then I didn't go to the lake today because I need gas. I think I'm going to pretend the weekend is over tomorrow, even though I have the day off. And I'm going to leave the damned house. Promise, I will.

Right, so that's it. Back to my cozy book and my cozy couch and my endless supply of jelly beans. What more could a girl ask for, eh?

before

after
diaryland.com