: molu4.diaryland.com

private | folks | currently | previously | mail | profile | g-book

2004-06-18 - 4:31 p.m.

My stomach is in absolute knots today, friends. Knots. Bathsheba and her darling boi Atticus have left the house (this morning) and since then I have suddenly remembered (and remembered and remembered) that I HAVE AN INTERVIEW NEXT THURSDAY AND I AM GOING TO DIE. TEACHING DEMO! TEACHING QUESTIONS! I AM NOT A GROWNUP! WHAT THE FUCK WAS I THINKING!

I want somebody to come slap me and say, snap out of it! Like Cher in Moonstruck.

I loved having Bath and Atticus at our house. They are the most delightful guests you can ever imagine. Totally interesting and interested and laid back and adaptable and wonderful and smart and pretty and funny and dimpled. Jeff just called me here at work to say pretty much the same thing. So nice! So fun! So lovely! So far away, they live! Waaaaah.

I got the call from the collegewhowantstointerviewmeEEK when Bath was here and Jeff was home from work and I saw on the caller id who it was and I went a bit batty (I do believe I threw the caller id away from me. Like ahhhh! Get those professional people OUT of this HOUSE! No calling on the caller id! No no no!) but then Jeff grabbed the phone and thus made me answer it and thus I answered it and thus I have an interview. Next Thursday! My folks are arriving in town on Sunday evening. I shall go mad.

We bought a car on Monday night. Impulse buy. But it was damned cheap and gets, on average, 55 mpg. So ha! (I don't know who I'm saying that to, either) We drove all the way out to this old engineer�s house for the purchase (and practically in the middle of the night, friends). This man only drives Geos. His hobby is fixing them up. He made one into a little bitty pickup truck. How can you not love such a person. He also had a couple of airplanes. Did you know that engineers love Geos? It�s a thing.

What am I even talking about. I�m tired and anxious. Saw Tita yesterday with Bathsheba and that was actually really nice.

I can�t write. Ugh. I read that New Yorker profile on Madeleine L'Engle (not available online (except if you are at my library here)--it's from the April 12 issue, I think) and it was so dang interesting and I have many many points I would like to make in reference to it. But I'm tired and anxious and stupid right now. I'll try this again at a later date.

Diaries. Bah.

before

after
diaryland.com