: molu4.diaryland.com

private | folks | currently | previously | mail | profile | g-book

2004-06-28 - 10:17 a.m.

Jeff called me almost as soon as I got to work this morning. He was on the road and in a state. Because. Ugh. I hate this. Some, some absolute, what? What�s the worst name in the world? The name reserved for people who THROW KITTENS OUT OF SPEEDING CARS O A BUSY HIGHWAY? What's that name?

Jeff saw the kitten roll under a car and onto the side of the road and he stopped, thinking surely it was dead. But it (she) was not dead and she was actually seemingly ok. He took her to a vet (who checked her over for free�nice folks) and they said she was about 8 weeks old and in good shape and voila! We have a kitten at our house. We�re trying to find a home for her, though (poverty and allergies and too many cats and dogs). Clara said maybe she�ll be able to take her. Her and her husband lost all four of their cats in the past year (all due to being ancient, extremely long-lived creatures. Which makes me glad that not all of my animals are the same age.) Clara taking this kitten would be the best thing in the world because Clara and her husband are probably the nicest animal owners I've ever met. So let's all cross our fingers all over this land. Poor old baby getting thrown out the window at 55 mph DESERVES CLARA. Make it happen oh unjust universe.

Other news:

My parents visited for two days. My mom played outside, collecting wild food for eating, just to see if she could. My dad took walks and watched Frontier House. It was nice and short, which is also very very nice.

I had my interview and I totally kicked ass. But I still don�t think I got the job. Part of that is wishful thinking, I�m afraid. I don�t really want to leave the library and go into the big scary teaching world. Plus the commute would be horrible. Anyway�I think there�s loads more experienced and knowledgeable college English instructors out there. So probably I�m off the hook�though if I do get offered the position I have to take it. 10-month contract! Almost double the pay!

We got a freezer, which is awesome. My folks put the money down for it as a surprise (I found a sizeable gift card from Sears on my dresser after they left). Popsicles!

We tried to watch Fahrenheit 9/11 but all the shows for the entire weekend were sold out. Which is kind of awesome. And I�m no Michael Moore fan. I just want stupidhead and all his little stupidhead friends to get the hell out of my employ. So yay left-wing propaganda! Yay Michael Moore!

We found our perfect Gbo house and discovered that it is for sale for wicked cheap (like 15-20 thousand less than I would have predicted) and we schemed hard trying to figure out a way to get it now but finally realized that there really is no way. We are no longer allowed to look at houses for sale until next year.

We are going to Florida on Friday! We�re going to see Britt and Ron and Elijah and yay!

Adios, y�all.

before

after
diaryland.com