: molu4.diaryland.com

private | folks | currently | previously | mail | profile | g-book

2004-12-30 - 11:27 a.m.

1. What did you do in 2004 that you'd never done before?

Taught full-time, started a garden from seed (not too successful there), went on a full day white water rafting trip, tried to get pregnant (another stunning failure!--that's all right, ma)

2. Did you keep your new years' resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

Last year was the very first time I made any kind of new year's resolution type thing. I burned my greatest fear/anxiety (which was a dollar bill) in hopes to have that source of tension gone from my life in the coming year. And lo! It worked. Flush with that success, I have, suddenly, a huge list of resolutions for the coming year.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Oh yes! Jessica gave birth to Sophia, Christie gave birth to Gabriel, and super sexy Brittania gave birth to super cute Elijah.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Frankie.

5. What countries did you visit?

I visited the country of solitude and the country of love and the country of incompetence and the country of community. Otherwise I pretty much just stayed right here in North Carolina.

6. What would you like to have in 2005 that you lacked in 2004?

A kid.

7. What date from 2004 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

November 6. Saturday. Jeff was sick. Frankie died.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Teaching. That was really hard.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Teaching. I got so much wrong.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Nope. I'm really ridiculously healthy.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Thing I bought? Ugh. I guess I really like the new back door on the bedroom. It's a big glass pane and we can look out into the pasture and watch the sun rise in the morning from bed. That is quite nice.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

Jeffrey! Dean! As usual. Every day merits a Jeff celebration.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

Besides the usual culprits (GWB and his cronies), I think the one person whose behavior most depressed me most consistently was a student of mine. He's emblematic of all that I find depressing in the world--the notion that Belief = Truth and that facts are all opinion and that any challenge to Belief = left wing conspiracy. This frightens and appalls and depresses me.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Well, beside just daily living, I suppose into the house. Which will someday be done. Hopefully.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Moving, a new vision of our life, occasionally teaching.

16. What song will always remind you of 2004?

Huh. I guess I didn't listen to much music this year.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

---i. Happier or sadder?
Hmmm. I am tremendously happy, but last year I was ecstatically happy, freakishly happy, inhumanly happy. I am not sad or sadder, I am just more calm about my tremendous happiness.

---ii. Smaller or larger? I think I'm larger. Lots of good eatin. Don't worry. I just joined the Y and went swimming.

---iii. Richer or poorer? Richer. This is probably the biggest change.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?

I wish I had gotten out into the world more. Except I know that I also need so much solitude, so maybe not. I wish I had been better prepared to teach. I wish I had cleaned house a bit more.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?

Smoking and drinking.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?

I spent the holiday with mi familia. It was a bit of a trial, truth be told. But also there were good times. Christmas morning with everybody was quite nice. Joe and Jess gave us two gorgeous black and white photographs taken last Christmas when we went canoeing. I think this was my favorite gift.

22. Did you fall in love in 2004?

Oh baby, I fall in love every day.

23. How many one-night stands?

Zero.

24. What was your favorite TV program?

I'm currently infatuated with all those PBS House shows--like Colonial House and Manor House and Regency House (though that last one is pretty goofy--Jeff hates it but I am far more shallow that Jeff is).

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?

No.

26. What was the best book you read?

I have no idea. I can never remember books. I read about 3-4 books a week and frankly, not much sticks with me. I am very stupid and forgetful and obsessively consumptive when it comes to books.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?

I really liked Van Lear Rose (given to us by the wonderful Bathseba-that-was). Oh! I forgot--I finally listened to Liz Phair and I LOVE HER.

28. What did you want and get?

Is this a thing question again? I wanted to be happy and I am but I figure there ain't nothing magical about that.

29. What did you want and not get?

A kid.

30. What was your favorite film of this year?

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

31. What did you do on your birthday?

Oh moaned and groaned I imagine. That's what I always do on my birthday.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

A KID. Didn't we cover this already?

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2004?

Bag lady.

34. What kept you sane?

Basho and Peaches and Frankie and Jeff. No, this is not true. They keep me company. Solitude kept me sane.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Kate Winslet (see number 30)

36. What political issue stirred you the most?

Religious fundamentalism (i.e. the election, the war, the way we treat our earth, gay marriage, etc. etc. forever and ever amen)

37. Who did you miss?

I miss the single me sometimes. I miss friends. Specifically, Bathsheba-that-was and Brittania and Blythe. I miss Frankie

38. Who was the best new person you met?

Did I meet anyone? Maybe the lesbian/radical/artist living in the ghetto trailer down the road. She stopped in the night before we went to Florida. She moved on Christmas day. Oh well.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2004:

I learned I am a transcendentalist and I learned that what is most important to me is the ability to think clearly and soulfully and to believe nothing that nobody else believes without real hard critical thought. I am so frightened by uncritical believers.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

"You walk in clouds of glitter and the sun reflects your eyes
And every time the wind blows, I can smell you in the sky
Your kisses are as wicked as an F-16
And you fuck like a volcano, and you're everything to me"

before

after
diaryland.com