: molu4.diaryland.com

private | folks | currently | previously | mail | profile | g-book

2005-07-01 - 1:02 p.m.

I think I'm coming down with damned cold. Gah. Just in time for my month long vacation extravaganza, too. Today is the last day of teaching, of working, until AUGUST! Yeehaw. Except for the extreme poverty part. Also, except for the fact that it has been nice having some very specific and concrete reason to get up every morning. Meaning, my one piddly little class to teach. I've enjoyed coming in for two hours every day. One of my students (out of seven) is also pregnant and we are due right around the same time. The two other women in the class both have young kids at home, too. Those three have been awesome to be around these past five weeks--they give good advice. My dang co-workers all are medicalized pregnancy people, but these students o mine (all teenage pregnancies, too--and only one father still in the picture) are right on radical midwife crazy babes. I love 'em. I'll miss them.

This class was a breeze. I'm waiting right now for my student Paul to magically send me an essay. I gave him a 1 pm deadline. I figure I'll wait around until 1:30. He just turned in the most beautiful deconstruction of "Annabel Lee." Really top notch, smartie pants stuff. He's still going to fail the class, though--hasn't done a damned thing in the past five weeks, really. So if he gets me this paper v. v. soon, maybe I'll bump that to a D.

We went to Ithaca, NY last weekend with Blythe for our pal Shawn's wedding. It was sort of wild seeing all these folks from millions of years ago--namely A. Brickman who was my first serious boyfriend. He's now married to an ex-roommate of mine and they brought their daughter, Aviva, who is 13 months old and extreme in her cuteness.

Aha! Paul has just sent me his essay. It's only one short paragraph--not even a page long. Dude fails the class. I know you were all waiting with baited breath for that information. This is like real-time action. Wahoo.

We don't have internet access at home anymore which means, really, I don't write here much anymore (in case you hadn't noticed).

I'm a be back, though. Someday. When the middle of nowhere gets cable or something. Bye for now, y'all.

before

after
diaryland.com