: molu4.diaryland.com

private | folks | currently | previously | mail | profile | g-book

2008-04-28 - 1:55 p.m.

Furiousness! I have it! Today is the last (best) day of classes thank you jesus. The last class of my last day has got to me, though. This is my least favorite group. That does not mean much since I love love love my two other classes. The class I do not love is also, incidently, my smartest class. Well, book smart. Soul stupid. This is often true, turns out. People who know how to pass a class sometimes have no soul whatsoever. In fact, I bet this is true most of the time. (jaded teacher)

Anyway, I have two students in this final class who have even less soul than average. The boy is a gymnast/cheerleader who loves Perez Hilton and whatever. He is a nasty specimen of a human being. Not to put too fine a point on it. But he makes fun of everyone. The girl is just a mess. Everything I say, she interrupts to ask me what I'm saying and always with that I-don't-understand-you-because-you-aren't-making-any-sense attitude. Basically? I hate her and I hate him.

But I am all about trying to treat everyone with respect, so I grit my teeth and explain things twice (no more than that) and attempt to smile all the time. I have been doing my damndest to treat them kindly and respectfully all dang semester because I do believe that this is the best way to get them to act the same. That, of course, assumes they have a soul.

They both showed up late today and the boy, in the middle of his oral presentation, said that he had not read his book (they each had to read a book of their own choosing from a list I had compiled. He chose Briar Rose, which was probably the easiest book to read from that list. Other students chose things like Grendel, Invisible Man, Grapes of Wrath). Because the book was so boring and the Holocaust was boring and the characters were lame and probably ugly.

Then he and his lame mean soulness friend (the girl) get up and walk out of class as the next presenter was getting started. I am happy to report two things: they are both getting very bad grades and I never have to see their ugly boring lame mugs again. And if I do, I don't have to be nice because I won't either.

Phew.

Ok, quick question for all old school diarylanders: how do I save a copy of my diary? I am planning to make the big switch to blogger and want to save my old entries. Anyone?

before

after
diaryland.com