: molu4.diaryland.com

private | folks | currently | previously | mail | profile | g-book

2008-05-12 - 1:21 p.m.

I just read this at slate.com:

"Researching the book I collaborated on for author Evelyn Murphy in 2005, Getting Even: Why Women Don�t Get Paid Like Men�And What To Do About It, I was startled by how many lawsuits were won because managers openly and publicly told women that they couldn�t be hired because they were pregnant; or that having a child would hurt them; or that it was simply impossible for women to both work and raise kids. Many other women we talked with had the same experience, but chose not to ruin their lives by suing. One lawyer who�d been on the partner track told us that, once she had her second child, her colleagues refused to give her work in her specialty, saying that she now had other priorities�even though she kept meeting her deadlines, albeit after the kids were asleep. She was denied partnership. A high-tech project manager told me that, when she was pregnant in 2002, she was asked: "Do you feel stupider?" Her colleague wasn�t being mean; he genuinely wanted to know if pregnancy�s hormones had dumbed her down. [emphasis mine]

I have been stewing since last week over a couple of work-related things. This helped me name one of them. A fellow in my department said to me last week, after I admitted that I am, on occasion, a bit batty about remembering things, "I don't mean to be sexist, but doesn't pregnancy make women kind of batty?" Jerk! And! He said, "I love Hilary [his wife who has borne his two children, ages 2 and 10 months] to death, but she has gotten pretty studid." JERK. This guy? Is the guy most likely to be my boss in the next round of retirements/promotions going on around here.

The sad thing is that I'll probably be better off with him as my boss. I'm not going to write about the current problems I have because, well, this is the Internet and I have kids and family who depend on my keeping this job. But sigh sigh sigh. I want to move and I want new digs.

That is all.

before

after
diaryland.com