: molu4.diaryland.com

private | folks | currently | previously | mail | profile | g-book

2002-06-13 - 3:00 p.m.

Idiot man said this to me yesterday (defending himself against the Spanish language�which he refuses to take because he doesn�t want to, in his words, talk to the damned Mexicans): Name just one Spanish author.

Luckily I was able to gather a meager few of my wits (such as they are) about me and immediately reply: Sandra Cisneros, Gary Soto, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, (and in a really horrified, shocked, what the fuck is wrong with you voice) Miguel Cervantes.

I am chagrined to think of all the names I could have said but didn�t. I should have been able to name names for an hour straight just to bore him to death with his own ignorance. I realize now that by �Spanish author� he meant �Mexican� and so for the edification of all, let me link to this Dictionary of Mexican writers, available in both Spanish and English.

This morning when I woke up, my alarm clock read 9:55. I�m supposed to be at work at 8 am. Today I was in charge of bringing cheese and crackers to a birthday party which was to begin at 9:30 am. Panicked and half awake, I flew out of bed and immediately called work. I got the answering machine, which I thought odd. I did not leave a message. Instead I turned on the radio to find out the time. Because, you see, my alarm clock is the only clock in the house and my watch is still AWOL. The time? 6:30 am. Yes. The clock, which had been set for the appropriate time when I went to bed was off by 3 hours and 27 minutes. No, friend, the power had not gone off in the night. And I'm pretty confident that Basho has not yet acquired an opposable thumb.

The burning question: What the fuck do I do in the middle of the night anyway?

before

after
diaryland.com