: molu4.diaryland.com

private | folks | currently | previously | mail | profile | g-book

2002-11-09 - 2:09 p.m.

I guess maybe I'm a bit of a sucker, but I loved 8 Mile. Yeah, it was pretty classic movie manipulation, what with the downtrodden making good, but I tell you I can't get crazy Eminem out of my head. He's creepy and charismatic and scary. I want to watch it again. I woke up early this morning to the phone ringing and at first I thought I was in the movie (seconds later I thought it was Scott's cell phone but he wasn't even there--I even said "cell phone" to Basho in my pre-cognizant state) and then Frances, who slept over, got up with her hooded sweatshirt pulled over her head and she said, "I'm feeling Eminem this morning."

What I didn't like: Brittany Murphy (her role and her performance were both unpleasant and irritating) and the sop to settle down the homophobic critics (except I like the part where he said maybe he's gay but you're a faggot). I didn't mind Kim Basinger actually, though I know Frances thought she was very bad and usually I do too. But I didn't mind her, except for that part that Frances mentioned--when she's sprawled out on the deck of her trailer because she's TRAILER TRASH. Um, that was maybe a little anvilishess. I think Scott hated the whole movie except for the end. Which I want to watch over and over again because, as I have mentioned, I'm a sucker.

Those raps, though--they were some of the best-crafted rhetoric I've ever heard. I don't mean to sound like such a dork when I say that, but I am and so I do. Everything Aristotle ever had to say about argument was put to brilliant use. I also loved all the parts with Rabbit and his friends.

Ok. That's all I'm going to say about that even though now I have this weird scary crush on Eminem. I don't mean to have it but I do. Movie crush, that's what Frances called it driving home last night. I think I had wicked dreams about him last night. Eek.

We also went to a poetry reading last night but I won't say the lady's name again because, while I thought some of her poems were good when I read them yesterday afternoon, that reading was horrible. Ugh. So very bad. She was terribly pretentious and embodied everything EVERYTHING I hate about poetry and everything that gives poetry a bad name. A million generic Italian references (because poets LOVE Italy), a dash of Henry James and John Singer Sergeant, and, worst of all, an elegy for William Matthews. Blasphemy coming out of that lady's lips. It was a horrible poem and I like to think that Mr. Matthews would be barfing all over her if he were in a position to do so. That woman is why people hate poetry. I hate poetry when she says it. Ugh. She totally calls herself a poet with a capital p.

Two terrible readings in a row--I think I don't want to go to anymore. Except that sometimes those readings will surprise me and someone I had no expectations of will knock me clean over. But so far this reading season has been one dud after another.

Turns out Frances and Scott can name all the states and their capitals, all the Canadian provinces and their capitals, and all the countries in Europe and their capitals. Next time, Africa and Asia. Brush up kiddies. I was the ignoramus. I don't know nothing about nothing.

I can't tell what the weather is doing today. It's warm and cloudy and windy but sometimes, like now, really sunny. I took Bash for a long walk earlier. I told him we'd go to the lake maybe this afternoon. I'm awfully tired though--I didn't go to bed till super late and then I woke up super early and couldn't go back to sleep. I hate sleeping when the sun is up. I blame the stuttered blahness of this entry on lack of sleep and my Eminem stupor.

What should I do now? Probably laundry or chores, but after all the socializing of the last two days I feel like I'm in college again and I want to have my buddies around all the time. Last night when Frances and Scott were over here I kept worrying that they would leave because it's so boring at my house but I didn't want them to ever leave because I like them for company. I always do that--worry about the moment everyone will go away. They stayed up pretty late with me though so godblessem. You my homies.

before

after
diaryland.com