: molu4.diaryland.com

private | folks | currently | previously | mail | profile | g-book

2003-01-22 - 4:24 p.m.

Ah. I'm listening to Bob Dylan this afternoon (Freewheelin Bob Dylan to be exact) and that song, "Don't Think Twice, It's All Right," I just listened to it and suddenly I thought, I get this song. I used to think it was just sorta mean (and I liked it mean, you know). But it's not--it's sad and disappointed. Oh Bob. People always do let us down, don't they? Anyway. I just wanted to say that. Here's the last verse:

I'm walkin' down that long, lonesome road, babe
Where I'm bound, I can't tell
But goodbye's too good a word, gal
So I'll just say fare thee well
I ain't sayin' you treated me unkind
You could have done better but I don't mind
You just kinda wasted my precious time
But don't think twice, it's all right.

I have these other topics that I keep meaning to write about that I'll have to come back to. This is to remind me.

1. Libraries and the new and scary anti-terrorism laws (which make it suddenly ok for the FBI to come in and demand any information they want from libraries) and what my boss told us all to do because she is so cool and so is the head of this library.

2. I keep meaning to try to figure out by writing what exactly my thoughts are about Iraq, etc. Because--yeah--of course I'm against the coming war, but I can't stand reading and hearing from every side so much gobledeegook. I need to understand why they think it's a good idea. I need to hear the ideas, because I'm damned sick of all the rhetoric. On both sides.

3. Idea boxes--like nesting dolls, like a wicked Escher print, like how time gets all wrapped round on itself in my head. I've been thinking about idea boxes.

4. Don't think twice, babe, it's all right. Man. Bob Dylan has made my everlovin day. He's given me attitude, see. I didn't have so much attitude before.

Ack. Must flee. Roosevelt's Secret War awaits. Adieu.

before

after
diaryland.com