: molu4.diaryland.com

private | folks | currently | previously | mail | profile | g-book

2003-04-15 - 9:51 a.m.

Who are these people running our country anyway?

Ah, well, we dusted things up rather nicely there with Iraq, that went smashingly well bravo yes yes.

Well.

What do we do now?

I know! LET'S DO IT AGAIN! Such fun! Hmmm...what's a good country to invade? What's a country that will be sure to convince Arabs and Muslims the world over that, yes indeed, we are after you? Oh here we go! Syria! Looks good! Yippee!

After all, if they don't do something soon someone might notice the general buffoonery that governs the Bush goons' domestic policies, will notice that Iraq and Saddam Hussein do NOT, in fact, equal Al Qaeda and Osama Bin Laden, will begin to wonder how much this reconstruction will actually cost (oh that pesky "nation building" as Bushy himself so snarlyingly called it a billion years ago--didn't he swear on the holy something or other that he'd never ever do anything like that because he's not a wanker liberal?).

And we damned well better pay up, too--so far $2.5 billion (when we were so eager to spend over $70 billion tearing that country down) is what we've pledged. From what I've heard, over $100 billion during this first year is needed. Good. Yes. We are the good guys.

I think I'm going to be sick. Right on inarticulate. Anyone supports George Bush these days? Either an absolute moron or evil. Sorry but that�s just the way it goes.

So. Class is almost over. Yup. That's good.

One student told me this story after class about an elderly woman with Alzheimer's who wandered away from home, got picked up and raped by two (and here's the part where she looked around the room dramatically to make sure we were all white) "BLACK GUYS" (said in a ridiculously loud stage whisper). Makes me want to cry and to sleep and to move away from people and live alone on that high mountain away and away. All of which is cowardly and silly and I'll get over it I know. It just hurts.

Tomorrow is Joe's birthday. 23rd one he's had. And he's shortly moving in with his girlfriend. I think I'll get him housewarming stuff. He likes domesticity. And chocolate milk. He also like chocolate milk A LOT.

Still, I haven't done the following: mailed Bathsheba's tape, mailed Sue's wedding stuff, mailed Oliver's birthday anything. I suck! Yippee!

What's good? I'm going to now think of five good things because this moaning is ridiculous.

1. I'm wearing a green shirt today. I like green shirts the best, even though blue is my favorite color.

2. My truck is totally paid off. Yup. My folks called me up on Sunday to tell me they did that. (Just so you don't think my folks are all richy rich--I owed less than $400 dollars on it). Don't you think that's horribly nice? Thanks momma and poppa.

3. Day after tomorrow my buddy's coming for a visit.

4. I have no trucks of books backed up waiting for me to work on. Drum roll please....For the first time ever....I am caught up on my work! Ta-da!

5. I woke up with time to lie about on the floor with Miss Blue and Bashi this morning (my black & white friends they are. Miss Blue is predominately black and Bashi's the reverse and she hates him but he doesn't hate anybody. Still they are at an impasse.) and time to eat an orange in the new morning light while Bash stretched and chased bugs and squirrels.
I don't want to be grouchy and I don't want you to be grouchy either. I don't have to be. I know it. Best lesson my mumma ever taught me: you choose how you feel. Mostly, that's true. For the day in, day out stuff, that's true. It's easy to fall into grumpy habits but I don't want to. I want to fall into pleasant and joyful habits. Right on momma. You are one smart lady.

before

after
diaryland.com