: molu4.diaryland.com

private | folks | currently | previously | mail | profile | g-book

2004-03-01 - 3:56 p.m.

What? It's four o'clock! When did that happen? I had all these things I wanted to write about and now it's four o'clock and I still have to give the money envelopes for the pizza party thing to all the departments and I still have to run those overdue library movies back and I still have to deliver this microfilm down to reference and those books on that truck to the label station (after counting for statistics, of course. EVERYTHING is counted in the library! That's why it's so much fuuuuuun!) and suddenly I can't remember if the word is label or lable...pause while I check because I am both stupid when it comes to spelling and can't bear (bare?) to be wrong...DUH PEOPLE WHY YOU ALL SO SILLY THERE AIN'T NO WORD "LABLE"...anyway, I still also have all this OTHER stuff that must be done, pronto.

But we have a new houseguest! I wanted to tell you! Die Dicke! Wolf's cat, Bathsheba's cat, she's come to stay for a spell. And when my darling Bath comes in July, as she promises to do, die Dicke will go west with the Bathshebas. For now, however, she is completely miserable in our kitchen area with Miss Blue and sometimes Harold. Two new cat companions + the sound of three barking dogs + two strange folk in a strange house = one very freaked out cat. But she's still more extraverted than Miss Blue.

I also wanted to tell you the story of our journey home with Sugar Ray (the official name of die Dicke), which is this: we were driving along the highway and Jeff pointed and said, look at that hawk, his voice thick with awe and longing. And it was beautiful, gliding almost skimming along the snow. Then it hit or was hit by a fucking SUV, right in front of us. The yell of rage that came out of Jeff, hoo boy, I never heard anything like it. We stopped and he ran back and picked the creature up (turned out to be an owl) and we brought it home and he took it out into the pasture and put it high in the sweet gum tree so that the dogs can't get it. He said, "I couldn't bury it." Right on, Jeff.

Also we ordered our seeds.

Also we began the process of moving the chicken coop in order to put a floor in it in order that me pals J-bird and sfitz can sleep in it.

We have been watching Lawrence of Arabia for what feels like ten weeks. Still, I love it.

We got a foot of snow! I took pictures and then it all vanished so superfast. It was perfect and lovely and got me out of work and then, thankfully, melted away. I will attempt to actually get these pictures developed and scanned and all that sharing goodness.

Ha! Do you know who just called me at work? WOLF. He didn't go. He's coming to pick up Sugar Ray this evening. I just called Jeff and told him and he laughed. I think the cat will be very very happy to go home.

I better get moving. Have to email directions to Wolf, clean my desk, talk to the furniture guy, get rid of this phone, mail a package, run to Borders and Aldi and Walmart (I know, I know, I wish they weren't so fucking cheap too, or that I weren't so damned poor), clean the house, return those other movies, walk the dogs, laundry and dishes and and and....

before

after
diaryland.com