: molu4.diaryland.com

private | folks | currently | previously | mail | profile | g-book

2004-08-02 - 8:54 a.m.

I think it's funny that Jeff, who wrote yesterday's brief entry, ended all of the sentences in exclamation! points! Because that's my style, man!

My brother's a local hero! I exclaim!

Ok, well. I don't have anything else to add. Good weekend as I did absolutely nothing except read, watch two movies (House of Sand and Fog (which was excellent and totally totally awful and sucky at the same time) and Manhunter (totally good)), talk with Jeff, and play with the dogs.

All right! Fine! Here's the truth: I'm freaking out today on this, the final Monday of my life at the library. I can't picture my life that starts next Monday. What, exactly, will it look like? I don't know where I'm supposed to go or who I'm supposed to report to or what classes I'll be teaching or what my schedule will be like. Nothing. Every afternoon I check the mailbox fully expecting some official job-type correspondance. Nothing. I've signed no contract, I've been assigned no classes, I've not been told to report to anyone. I have, however, QUIT MY JOB. What if it was all some ridiculous error? Or worse! What if someone was playing a mean joke on me? What if, starting next Monday, I am nothing except unemployed? You see? I always fully anticipate the worst case scenario. When bad things happen, I never ask, why me? I only ask that when good things happen. And why not me? when bad things happen to other people.

before

after
diaryland.com