: molu4.diaryland.com

private | folks | currently | previously | mail | profile | g-book

2004-08-03 - 9:34 a.m.

I just got my teaching schedule! I just got my teaching schedule! I HAVE A JOB!

I'm not actually teaching six classes, which is a tremendous relief. I am teaching five classes. But 19 hours of teaching a week. But four of those hours are silly writing lab thingies which seem to require zero prep, etc.

I am teaching two sections of American Literature! When did I get qualified to do that!

Stop yelling!

On Tuesdays and Thursdays: I have ONE HOUR OF WORK. And! I'm done teaching at 1 pm on Fridays!

Yay!

Whoever thought to pay me two times what I get paid right now AND give me a flexible schedule with seemingly loads of time off (I know it won't really be like that--but hell! I worked this 40-hour-a-week job and taught two classes and got paid approximately nothing and soon I'll be teaching five classes and getting paid approximately a whole fucking lot more than I've ever gotten paid in my entire life!), whoever thought of this was a bleeding genius.

I'm suddenly excited because now, friends, now I can actually begin to see what will happen to me.

Of course I'm terribly behind everyone else because I can't start until Monday. The head of the department (who I just talked with--he's nice. He looks like an aging high school football star gone slightly to seed. But he's very nice. He told me I got the job because they all loved my teaching demo so much! How do you do!) well, he thought I was coming in today or tomorrow. But he didn't mind that I couldn't come in until Monday. Me neither.

I have an office with email and telephone and computer! That's what he told me!

And next week, it sounds like I'm just going to be setting myself up and meeting people and doing paperwork and planning my classes. How fucking excellent. I mean, it sucks that it was all so last minute, but I don't think I could ever get such a cushy deal if they weren't desperate. And their first choice turned the job down. I'm the second choice. I'm the desperate choice. I love being the second desperate choice!

I'm sorry I'm so slaphappy. I rilly rilly have to fucking move on all this library stuff so that I don't leave and then have everyone here hate my guts.

Bye!

before

after
diaryland.com