: molu4.diaryland.com

private | folks | currently | previously | mail | profile | g-book

2007-10-05 - 9:43 a.m.

Gloom gloom gloom. I just dropped Ossie off at his second day of preschool. Two days a week, three hours a day. That's nothing. So why do I feel like I just sent him up to the mountain-top to survive (or not) the winter night with the wolves? Because I'm a gloom-monster. And because he said, before we left, mama mama! stay home! no mama! no school!

I hope it rains today. Please rain!

I also didn't go to work this morning (hopefully no one will notice) because Jeff didn't get home from the big job he's got going until close to 3 am last night. I couldn't make him get up at 7 with the kids and get them all organized and moved out the door and etc. I mean, that's shitty on a GOOD day. So anyway--no work. I've got a ton of grading to do and I'm behind of course. GLOOM.

What else got me all fussy sad? Oh yes--kids got shots yesterday. Sometimes I feel like a bad mother because I didn't research enough why all those people at mothering.com are against vaccinations. But hell. From a public health standpoint, how can I not vaccinate my kids? I know that a society can maintain its disease free-ness with a certain percentage unvaccinated, but that seems shitty to me to expect all the other kids to shoulder that burden. And also, if you want to maintain medicade or go to a public school, you HAVE to get your shots. So it's not just any kids shouldering the burden, you know? Also, I am fully convinced that these things don't cause autism. I've read enough about that one. I guess it's just the shit they put in the vaccines? Folks are scared of cancer? Not sure. Any experts out there want to tell me how I'm fucking up my little darlings?

Anyway. My kids? Fully vaccinated. Matilda has been a bit feverish since then and had an a-typically bad night.

I've been watching Friday Night Lights when I should have been grading. I admit it. But! That show! So good. I love how they have the Murder Ball guy on there! Awesome. I hope it doesn't go like Veronica Mars and get not good after the first season.

Ok. Better use my time wisely--something I have never in my life been able to do. Le sigh.

before

after
diaryland.com